Beauty & Skincare
Comments 10

The Beauty Clean-Up #10 (empties)

The last time I did an Empties was in February but for some reason, it feels much longer than that. (I actually had a slight panic just now thinking this one was my first of the year, haha.)

The weather couldn’t be any more bipolar right now. Last week was the warmest of the year, going up to about 22 degrees where I am in the UK. This week seems like such a stark contrast that it’s hard to believe it was ever sunny. In fact, tonight feels a bit more chillier than the previous few days – Spring, where art thou? Regardless of that, I still need to do a clean-out.

As a result of a trip to Hong Kong, some empties were disposed of before I came back, so there will be no pictures of those items. I do however, have previous photos to reference it to since I did a whole post on what skincare products I brought with me here!

Empties10-cover-hoiyinli

+ Would repurchase
– Will not bother again
= Neutral/Indifferent

+ Nivea Daily Essentials Double Effect Eye Make-Up Remover
+ Garnier Micellar Water (Travel-Size)
+ Avene Thermal Spring Water
– Kiko Skin Tone Corrector Primer (discont.)
+ H&M Precision Sponge
Simple Facial Scrub
+ Simple Soothing Toner
+ Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Lotion (Rich)
Witch Blemish Gel
No7 Youthful Eye Serum
– Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel Moisturizer
+ The Ordinary Natural Moisturizing Factors + HA
Bobbi Brown SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Bobbi Brown Intensive Skin Supplement (sample)
+ My Beauty Diary Bird’s Nest Sheet Mask
+ NARUKO Rose & Botanic HA Aqua Cubic Hydrating Mask
+ Dr Organic Aloe Vera Gel Double Strength
+ LUSH Dream Cream
Tresemme 2in1 Shampoo and Conditioner
+ L’Oréal Elvive Triple Resist Reinforcing Shampoo
= Oral-B Essential Floss
+ Cien Soft Make-Up Pads
– The Creme Shop Natural Sea Sponge

The Unpictured

+ Nivea Daily Essentials Double Effect Eye Make-Up Remover

Sometimes I like to try out different cleansing oils, balms and makeup removers however, they don’t always remove my mascara – especially if I’m using those Japanese formulas that just don’t budge. This one comes in super handy and is inexpensive. It’s a split oil and liquid formula which you shake before each use. I find its size and packaging super travel-friendly too though it’s probably best to get it 100ml or below before departing!

+ Garnier Micellar Water (Travel-Size)

I know a lot of people swear by this. I am not that loyal to micellar water since I like to switch between brands but I will always buy this one. It’s just easy. Again, it’s in a strange 125ml format so use a bit before you travel! (Or just put it in your luggage if you are checking in.)

+ Avene Thermal Spring Water

I love this! I got this before last summer actually, so it has lasted me a while. There was a period when I stopped using it, but now and again, I love it for when I want a cool-down. I also use it as skin prep before I apply my essence. Some people like to use this for setting their makeup too so it’s a versatile product that can’t go wrong! The mist is incredibly fine but effective.

– Kiko Skin Tone Corrector Primer (discont.)

I mentioned a few times about this product that sadly has been discontinued! It’s a hydrating primer that evens out the skin. I don’t think this increases the longevity of my foundation or other base, however it preps the skin really well and was a staple in my winter routine. I’ll be on the hunt for another primer now – any suggestions?

+ H&M Precision Sponge

I think it was Stashy who talked about these on her (now retired) blog which led me to buying one too! I haven’t tried out that many makeup sponges in my experience, but I prefer these to the Real Technique ones. These are relatively inexpensive but expand and soften really well once damp. They also don’t tear that easy. I generally don’t care for sharp edges on sponges so the shape of these are perfect!

Skincare

Empties10-skincare-hoiyinli

Simple Facial Scrub

I took this with me to Hong Kong, purchasing it solely for that purpose because of its small size (75ml). I wasn’t really that fussed about this – it’s okay but I’ve used more effective scrubs and exfoliators in the past. That being said, this didn’t break me out or anything – it’s just an average product so most likely, I won’t be repurchasing!

+ Simple Soothing Toner

Well, surely we must know that this is a go-to! I have lost count of how many I’ve purchased before but the point is, this is great. It’s just really soothing and makes my skin feel really healthy. These are inexpensive too which is why I always have a back-up.

+ Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Lotion (Rich)

This is a first repurchase and won’t be the last. I just love this stuff. If my skin is feeling a bit rough, dull and dehydrated, I can pat this into my skin and voila! My skin drinks this all up and before long (honestly within a few minutes), it becomes softer and plumper. Anyone who struggles to have hydrated or balanced skin – I really recommend this brand to you.

Witch Blemish Gel

I ended up throwing away the last 10% or so. I did like the product at first, but I think it was just a false alarm since the gel can feel cooling on the skin. It probably does calm down spots to an extent but in terms of actual performance, nothing happened. I actually broke out badly in my last week of Hong Kong (I went for 3) and this just did nothing to improve blemishes so in the bin it went.

No7 Youthful Eye Serum

Ah, another skincare staple! I have repurchased this a good few times now thanks to a recommendation from a dear friend of mine. I use this before an eye cream (yes, I use two products under my eyes every day and night…) and I honestly think it makes a world of a difference. This helps to brighten, hydrate and plump the eye area. I’ve already repurchased another one!

– Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel Moisturizer

Firstly, I want to say that I don’t dislike this – but I also don’t think it’s worth the hype or the price. (£12.99 RRP is way too steep for this product!) As a combination/oily girl, I am happy to finally see a water gel formula on the UK drugstore market however, it feels very late to the party and with little effect – at least for me. It’s lovely and cooling on the skin, so I do enjoy the application. It’s the scent that can be bothersome – it smells like laundry powder. I also feel that the hydrating effects don’t last very long into the next day and so with that in mind, I think you can get better for your money elsewhere.

+ The Ordinary Natural Moisturizing Factors + HA

There is some commotion going on with this brand and as it happens, the usual online retailer I use to buy The Ordinary products do not stock the brand anymore. How practical! Anyhow, is it any surprise that I love this product too? It’s a very good, basic moisturiser. If you like your moisturisers to have particular ingredients or effects for anti-aging, redness etc. then this is not for you; however if you want something simple and moisturising – this is great! It does take a while to rub in though so less is more.

Empties10-treatment-hoiyinli

Bobbi Brown SPF 50 Protective Face Base

First purchase but it’s become a real staple in my collection. I love everything about this. It smells very planty and organic. It preps my skin rather well which is almost unusual for an SPF product. It gives my skin a very clean look (think model-esque), although I do have to powder it down a bit as personal preference since I have combination/oily skin. This is a bit like my SPF, primer and moisturiser all-in-one (although I still moisturise before using this) so I particularly recommend if you want to simplify some steps!

Bobbi Brown Intensive Skin Supplement (sample)

This year, I’ve really dived into Bobbi Brown skincare. I mostly love everything I’ve tried so far and have had the joy of grabbing a few samples along the way too. However, the problem with samples is it’s so hard to tell if the product has made any noticeable difference in such a short space of time. This is a non-greasy serum formula that does hydrate, but I’m not sure if I can call it intensive. It has a hefty price tag too so for that, I’m passing.

+ My Beauty Diary Bird’s Nest Sheet Mask

[Review here] I’m sad to have finished these! I rarely stick to the same sheet masks since I always like to purchase new ones out of pure curiosity as there’s so many on the market, but these are fantastic. I would describe these as my emergency choice if my skin has been particularly bad and needs some TLC. It has a lot of moisturising ingredients so no wonder it gives me results!

+ NARUKO Rose & Botanic HA Aqua Cubic Hydrating Mask

[Review here] This brand and product was completely new to me but I’m definitely on the  lookout for more! Personally, I’m not the biggest rose scent fan but over time, I got used to the scent of this. I find this mask cooling and hydrating, so it’d be good for those with sensitive skin and/or redness. The results are pretty immediate too.

Body, Hair & Misc.

Empties10-misc-hoiyinli

+ Dr Organic Aloe Vera Gel Double Strength

Some of you already know that I suffer from psoriasis and aloe vera has been the one ingredient that has seen me through the worst of my flare-ups. The gel has anti-inflammatory properties which is great for an auto-immune disease that likes to target its own cells and cause redness and dryness. The effects are not necessarily immediate however, I see it as “good skin food” and over time, my patches are more hydrated and less red!

+ LUSH Dream Cream

[Review here] This is more of a recent discovery but has seen me through some of my bad, irregular flare-ups. The key ingredient is oats (or oat milk rather) which is excellent for problem skin. This pot of cream is pricey but I love it so much – it works whilst keeping things simple. I no longer have to feel like I’m applying something medicinal on my skin! Shop-bought lotions tend not to work on more serious dry skin issues so I’d really recommend this.

Tresemme 2in1 Shampoo and Conditioner

Not a fan of this at all. In fact, my whole family hates this so much that no one has bothered to finish the bottle (there’s still a good half inside). It is so drying for me and doesn’t nourish my hair. Instead, it just makes it feel like cheap plastic. In the bin it goes!

+ L’Oréal Elvive Triple Resist Reinforcing Shampoo

I have become more picky with what shampoos to use and marking down which works or doesn’t work for me. This one works, thankfully. I don’t know about it making my hair stronger since I don’t have that much hair fall-out in the first place but certainly, it’s a good all-rounder and most importantly, doesn’t dry out my scalp!

= Oral-B Essential Floss

Repeat empties. It’s okay as far as floss goes!

+ Cien Soft Make-Up Pads 

Repeat empties. Staple item.

Lastly, I almost forgot to talk about this sponge:

Empties10-sponge-hoiyinli

– The Creme Shop Natural Sea Sponge

I had mentioned it before in my A Beauty Haul + A Few First Impressions post. I don’t have too many purchase regrets but this has got to be one of them. It’s far too big to actually use, and unlike other sponges, this doesn’t really soften once in contact with water. It’s a really stiff and rigid sponge that doesn’t feel good in the hand – just awkward and within seconds, I give up. The texture is really strange – it’s like a spongy rubber. Sad to say I didn’t use this much at all but it’s going in the bin!

Empties10-box-hoiyinli

Question of the day: Have you been caught by someone you live with, asking why you have an empty product in your room? 😳


No surprise – this is a massive Empties post again considering how long I’ve left this for. I’ll work on cutting down empties to a reasonable amount next time – what do you think? Let me know! ⬇️⬇️⬇️

Also – I apologise in advance for my irregularity in posting lately. I’ve been busy with a couple of applications in my own personal life. Once I’ve juggled it all, I hope to be much more regular and daring with the content I choose to put out there! 😁

You can find me on:

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr

10 Comments

  1. I’m definitely a bit obsessed with the garnier micellar water, but I’ve heard that other brands are just as good!! great empties post 😊

  2. I love these types of posts! I love the Garnier micellar water and I definitely need to try the H&M precision sponge, it sounds amazing. Great post 😘

    • I actually bought a new one of the sponge today lol I had two but I disposed one last month. Thanks girly. ☺️

  3. Jessica says

    While Brandon is chaos for Deciem, I do worry that the formulas will be altered & watered down if he really left the company. Most of my Ordinary products were gone, but I definitely made sure to stock up recently!

      • Jessica says

        He sent a dubious email out to employees that he’s done with Deciem last week, but I cannot keep up with all the recent things going on with that chaos so it could have changed by now haha.

      • Oh. I really can’t keep up either! I know there have been lots of things going on lately and that he’s been posting a lot on Instagram that’s a bit loony and questionable, and just not what you’d expect from any company but I barely follow it all (mainly because of IG’s algorithm).

Leave a comment