Lifestyle, Other Mentions
Comments 5

If We Were Having Coffee #4

This time it’s Mocha.

Thank you for the love in my last If We Were Having Coffee session! I might make these a monthly/bi-monthly series to keep it going more consistently throughout the year – what do you think? I love writing them as it keeps me in-tact with my thoughts so it’s definitely an idea.

It still continues to be a busy month but I just saw off the end to a project last week and am starting a new one next week at work with small projects in-between. A part of me just thinks I’m not made for an easy life but sometimes the rewards are sweeter.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you:

  • I am going through a journey or two right now where I’m facing a lot of my fears and in the process of defeating them. I may have mentioned in a new year goals post that I wanted to make 2019 a year about me, for me. It’s over halfway through the year and I feel that I am making good progress. Maybe it’s an age thing but I’m at that point in my life where I’m blooming, trying out new things, constantly putting myself at the deep end and meeting lots of new people. I think I have somewhat overcome my shyness too. It’s weird and I can’t quite believe it. Did any of you grow up really shy? I would love to know your story.
  • My birthday just surpassed and it was a very good birthday. I’m not a huge birthday person in the sense that I don’t really do anything extravagant but this year, I felt like I had a lot of activities on my birthday week – not just on the day and honestly, I felt so loved. Thank you for all the birthday messages from some of you too. ☺️
View this post on Instagram

What. A. Week. 👏🏼 👏🏼 Mood: 😬😬

A post shared by Judy (@hoiyinli) on

  • Before my birthday, I was on a beauty no-buy for about two months before I splurged (haul post coming soon). I am back on it again but it’s definitely making me more attentive towards products that I have been neglecting for a long time. Due to the warmer weather, it’s unlikely that I’ll be using up foundations that I’ve neglected; however I’m definitely looking to use up more of the other products.
  • Whilst we are still on the subject, my friends did really well for my presents this year. I received a Decathlon Yoga Mat which sounds so lame in writing but is something I was super excited about. My friend Sabrina asked me what I wanted for my birthday this year and it took me some time to think but I told her I wanted a new yoga mat since mine was very run-down. Well, she delivered – so thank you Sabrina! My other friend Leigh also surprised me by purchasing my favourite go-to foundation. I guess having a blog has its perks… 😅
I only realised whilst editing this photo that I had a pair of scissors next to it! I was ready to open the yoga mat right away when I received it via post.
The Decathlon yoga mat is made up of a very thick material so it’s great to lie on and jump on without sliding your mat all over the place. I especially love the colour/pattern and the line down the middle! What do you think?
One of my best friends Leigh got me lots of presents this year but this is the one that took me by surprise as I don’t typically receive makeup on my birthday! She did very well as she found out one of my fears was this foundation discontinuing – plus, she bought the correct shade. Major brownie points.
  • I am going ham on the sun protection this year. This includes my arms when they are on show. Last year, I was watching Wimbledon on these public deck chairs and my arms got badly sunburnt. My arms haven’t quite been the same again (I think only I notice this though) so I’m being extra careful this year because it was painful. (Funny story: I didn’t want anyone to know so I used foundation to cover my arms, especially my right, for a few days…) 😂

How is your summer going so far? I’m living for the good weather at the moment. Apparently it’s going to be 29 degrees on Tuesday! It’s been a long time coming but I think we deserve some good weather after such delay in the seasons.

You can find me on:

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr

5 Comments

  1. I’m very shy as well and recently I’ve been doing things that are way out of my comfort zone. I’m really trying to get out of my shell. I’m glad to hear that you had a great birthday week and for some reasons, I was really happy to read this post. Keep these posts coming, I love them haha! On another note, I didn’t know they were discontinuing this foundation, it’s one of my go-to foundations – I need to stock up on a couple of them! 😫

    • I don’t think they are discontinuing the foundation but it is one of my greatest beauty fears lol!

      But thank you lovely! Means a lot. ❤

  2. That’s amazing if you’ve been stepping out your comfort zone, a step at a time is always the best strategy! 😊 I can be quite shy too and I know how hard it is, but I’m sure you’ll manage to do it and enjoy this year as much as you can! Also good job for sunscreen, it is soooo important! I have a very fair skin and I’m constantly re-applying sun screen!
    Great post! 😊

  3. Seeing as it’s so hot I’m also trying to improve my sunscreen habits. I’m late to reading your posts, but I love being able to catch up with you this way!
    X

    • Thanks for catching up Swanna! No problem at all with reading posts late – I am the same but find it more enjoyable this way. 🙂 x

Leave a comment