Beauty & Skincare
Comments 6

Review: L’Oréal Infallible 24hr Foundation

I’m so happy to be back at reviewing some products! I realise that they’re few and far between but I do love writing a good, detailed review. It’s just not often that I have enough to say about a given product and you should know that I want to give a quality review as much as I want to be interested in the product I’m reviewing whether for a good reason or a bad reason.

Today, I’ll be reviewing the L’Oréal Infallible 24hr Foundation.

I bought this foundation completely on a whim with no prior knowledge to it. I seldom watch beauty YouTube anymore so I have no idea, no recollection, of whether this foundation has been hyped about or not. I have also not read a review to do with this product so this may be the most unbiased review you’ll have seen me write.

Let’s begin shall we?

FYI – I have combination/oily skin with the tendency to suffer from dehydration.

I purchased the foundation in shade 120 Vanilla.

What is it?

It’s a light-weight, fresh-feel foundation that claims to last up to 24 hours. It sets itself apart from other foundations (at least from its description) by not compromising on coverage despite it’s light-weight feel.

There are some big, bold statements made which I’m interested to explore:

Transfer-proof, life-proof, party-proof and waterproof

Taken from L’Oréal Paris’ main website

The foundation is available in 26 shades which is incredible for a drugstore product since some affordable lines barely have 10 shades.

How much does it cost?

The higher end of drugstore pricing, retailing at £10.99 although this seems to be the standard pricing for most drugstore foundations nowadays!

Where from?

It’s L’Oréal so it’s readily available in most stores and supermarkets. I bought mine from Boots.

Who is it for?

I suspect that it’s for people like me who hate heavy-feeling foundations but would still like the coverage.

What made you buy it?

Nothing. I bought the foundation on-a-whim with no particular knowledge of it. I know of the name but that’s it. I will say however that with a name like Infallible, it does want to make you test it out, doesn’t it?

Can you talk me through the ingredients?

AQUA / WATER, DIMETHICONE, ISODODECANE, ALCOHOL DENAT., ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, TRIMETHYLSILOXYSILICATE, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, PEG-10 DIMETHICONE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE [NANO] / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, PERLITE, SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, NYLON-12, ISOPROPYL LAUROYL SARCOSINATE, DIISOPROPYL SEBACATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, HDI/TRIMETHYLOL HEXYLLACTONE CROSSPOLYMER, BIS-PEG/PPG-14/14 DIMETHICONE, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, PHENOXYETHANOL, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, HYDROGEN DIMETHICONE, DIPENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAHYDROXYSTEARATE/TETRAISOSTEARATE, PARFUM / FRAGRANCE, SILICA SILYLATE, ACRYLONITRILE/METHYL METHACRYLATE/VINYLIDENE CHLORIDE COPOLYMER, TOCOPHEROL, HEXYLCINNAMAL, SILICA, ISOBUTANE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, ALPHA-ISOMETHYL IONONE, BENZYLALCOHOL, BHT, CITRONELLOL, [+/- MAY CONTAIN: CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES, CI 77510 / FERRICAMMONIUM FERROCYANIDE]. ( F. I . L .B215676/5)

Taken from Superdrug.com
  • The product contains silicone ingredients which some of you may not be a fan of.
  • Fragrance is listed quite high up. If you are especially sensitive to this, then avoid. Read more below on my overall thoughts.

What do you have to say about it?

Given its name, this foundation is already promising a lot.

I was really interested in what else was out there on the drugstore market in terms of foundation. Obviously there’s plenty but I’m picky and the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation is very much the only drugstore foundation pick at this moment (although I do have a few on the wish list that I’d like to try out). I tend to be more pro-luxury when it comes to foundation as I’m more of an oily person and just need the correct formula to last me through the day.

When I had first trialled the Infallible foundation, my first impression was that it was very pretty on the skin even around the nose. Some foundations seem to emphasise some sort of texture or dryness, especially on the sides of this particular area, but it looked great. The times after that, it didn’t look as amazing but still better than how a lot of foundations normally sit around my nose so I was happy with this.

I normally use about 1 and a half pumps per application which is quite standard for me. I would go in with one pump first which is just about enough to cover my face. The half pump afterwards is generally used for areas where I want a little bit more coverage – for me, this is the cheek area as I get mild redness and blotchiness which I like to mask. This foundation is definitely effective for that and has been my foundation of choice for a couple of weekends now.

One of my favourite features of the packaging is actually the pump and the way the lid clicks on.

The foundation is quite a thin consistency although not quite water-weight; I would say it’s slightly thicker than that. But because of this consistency, it means that the texture doesn’t lend itself well to being applied with a brush. I have tried different brushes in applying this foundation – buffing, stippling, full-coverage…each one leaves brush marks on the skin. This of course, can be saved by going in with a beauty blender to press the foundation in afterwards but ultimately, it’s a bit of an inconvenience especially if you’re in a rush. If you’re going to use this foundation, I would recommend to only use a beauty blender – it will automatically give the smoothest finish compared to the other methods of application.

Now when this foundation is applied over spots, it’s not my favourite. It doesn’t exactly cover any spots so most likely, you’ll need to go in with a concealer. This isn’t a huge issue for me as any spots I get are few and far between. However for those with blemished, problem skin – I don’t think this is the foundation for you or one I’d recommend to you. If you happen to have a lot of texture, the foundation isn’t thick enough to really glide over it nicely if you know what I mean – you can still see where the spots are. Personally, I’m not the type of person to use concealer for spots so I love a foundation that can meet me in the middle and take care of that job too.

By all means, if you have good skin then this is a foundation worth checking out in my opinion. It gives a light to medium coverage which I prefer. It certainly doesn’t feel heavy on the skin. It leaves a natural dewy finish which I really like even as a combination/oily person. I have actually taken a couple of photos with this foundation on and it’s really photogenic! I have never experienced flashback issues but I just notice how well the colour matches my skin and how perky my skin looks.

In terms of longevity, I do get a bit shiny after a couple of hours but nothing horrific. I’ll normally just have to powder once and I’m good for the rest of the day. Honestly, I get lazy to powder my face around lunchtime but even then, I find that my whole look holds itself well – no weird disintegration.

Any powder products that goes on top (bronzer, contour, blush or just powder in general) is fine. I also find that the foundation sets nicely with and without powder. Some foundations can leave your skin feeling sticky but when I lightly press my skin, it feels…skin-like, which I know sounds so stupid but in theory, not all foundations adhere this sort of result.

The one area where I can see this foundation being a problem is the scent. I’ve gotten used to it now so I don’t notice it as much until I go days without using the foundation again. The scent comes off strong – very perfumed. It lingers for a bit but does eventually go. Personally, it hasn’t affected my experience but for others, this could be the deal-breaker so just be wary of this especially if you are sensitive to smell!

Overall, whilst this isn’t my favourite foundation, it has become a bit of my go-to regardless of me reviewing this. I do actually enjoy using the foundation and can see it fitting a lot of skin types. It’s a healthy option (pun intended) as an everyday foundation. For nights out, special occasions and specifically long-wearing, full-coverage foundation-lovers, I’d probably keep searching!

Overall Loving: A solid 7/10

When I first used this foundation, I enjoyed the finish so much that I had thought it to be a hot contender alongside my trustworthy Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation. I no longer think this is the case however, I do still think it’s a great foundation to have in my collection. Is it versatile enough though? Probably not if you have blemished, problem skin or lots of texture; but if you have relatively good skin, it looks great! Just be sure to finish it off with a beauty blender even if you do use a brush to apply.


Huge apologies for a rather uneventful February! I had ideas for February but the drafting never followed through due to having to take my Macbook in for repair (the keyboard and trackpad died). That really overthrew my blogging game and on top of that, I had lots of work deadlines which I needed to prioritise. I’m looking forward to a more productive March for blogging though. Did I miss anything? Let me know.

You can find me on:

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr

6 Comments

  1. I plan to get this foundation after finishing my current one too. Other reviewers I watched or read said that the tube version of the Loreal infallible is full coverage if that’s what you want. What shade are you using for this line?

Leave a comment