Beauty & Skincare
Comments 6

The Beauty Clean-Up #2 (empties)

Collecting empties is like collecting trash, isn’t it? You laugh but isn’t it just true!

It has become even realer now that I have a shoe box to accumulate the ‘trash’ within otherwise my room just looks strangely cluttered. Instead, I have an organised mess which looks a tad bit more presentable and easier to maintain.

As such, I’ve collected a certain amount and would very gladly dispose of them…but only after I kindly talk to you about them first!

Click here to see my first edition which I really enjoyed making.

img_20170108_131121img_20170108_131136

+ Would repurchase
– Will not bother again
= Neutral/Indifferent

Garnier Ultimate Blends Shampoo with Coconut Oil & Cocoa Butter
Dove Daily Moisture 2 in 1 with Pro-Moisture Complex
+ YesTo Carrots Nourishing Shampoo
+ YesTo Carrots Pampering Conditioner
+ Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF 50+ PA++++
Lancome Genifique Youth Activator
= BareMinerals Skinlongevity Vital Power Infusion (sample)
= Premium Dr. Althea Water Glow Skin Renewal Hydrogel Mask
+ My Beauty Diary Face Masks in ‘Hyaluronic Acid’ and ‘Aloe’
= Innisfree Capsule Recipe Pack in ‘Aloe’

Shampoos and Conditioners

I’ve actually used up a lot of shampoos and it’s not without reason. I’ve been trying to find a shampoo that my scalp and hair likes. It’s maybe a bit much, but I’ve started to look at everything the same way that I look at my skincare. I want to actively think about what I’m using.

First up, is the Garnier Ultimate Blends Shampoo with Coconut Oil & Cocoa Butter. I have used this on numerous occasions including the conditioner in lesser occasions. I really liked this at first, but on closer inspection, it didn’t give me the results I wanted. I found that my hair got greasier quicker which is the case when I have a dry scalp. It also left my hair a bit flat.

The Dove Daily Moisture 2 in 1 with Pro-Moisture Complex has been another shampoo I’ve tried out in 2016. Again, I really liked this at first. I found that it was really moisturising, even whilst shampooing my hair. Some shampoos can feel very chemical but this was really nice. Unfortunately, over time it wasn’t the result I was looking for – my scalp was still dry but it also became itchy and irritated.

The winner by far in this case is the YesTo Carrots Shampoo and Conditioner. I purchased this duo randomly at a time when I was interested in SLS-free haircare due to a particularly irritated scalp. Derived from 95% natural goodness, this is a joy to use as there’s no overly-chemical foam. Instead, it’s a gentle lather that smells rather gorgeous but not in-your-face. My hair just felt clean – not overly stripped and my scalp felt comfortable which meant not-so-greasy hair for once. Try it sometime!

General Skincare

Now comes an empty that I’m very sad to have finished: the Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF 50+ PA++++It’s possibly the best sunscreen I’ve ever used, but sadly it’s not a product I can buy in hand (I have to order online). It lasted me a good 4 months? It’s a water-based consistency – very similar to a gel moisturiser so it’s particularly comfortable to use. As a base for makeup or on its own, it’s beautiful and moisturising. No white cast either plus it smells nice.

Including the Lancome Genifique Youth Activator in this post is technically cheating. Why? My sis-in-law who stayed over in the summer left maybe a week’s worth of it and didn’t bother to pack it with her on-board the flight. I took this opportunity to a) test out a product and b) not waste something! Eh, this was just okay for me. I didn’t notice a big difference to my skin and the only comment I can give is ‘it’s nice’. I’ve used better at a cheaper price so this is a miss for me!

Another serum that I had been trialling is the BareMinerals Skinlongevity Vital Power Infusion which lasted over a week since I had a mini sample product and two sachets. I’m really lazy when it comes to using samples but it definitely comes in handy in-between switching products or during travel! I loved the smell of this – the ginger stands out to me. My skin really liked this as it didn’t take long to look glowing and hydrated! Combo/oily peeps – this could be for you?

Face Masks and Treatments

I’ll let you in on a secret: I’m really inconsistent when it comes to face-masking. I might face-mask one week and totally forget the next week! (I say forget – more like postpone…) But overall, I’ve been rather good with my skincare lately and finally finished the rotation of face masks that I’ve had for a while.

The Premium Dr. Althea Water Glow Skin Renewal Hydrogel Mask is not part of that rotation. It was gifted to me by my sis-in-law. Firstly – wow! This fitted my face perfectly! I don’t consider myself to have a small face so this might not be the case for everyone, but this was great. The mask also holds enough product, so it’s not dripping everywhere messily which is a plus too. It did hydrate my skin however I actually prefer My Beauty Diary (see below).

Every time that I make a trip to Hong Kong, I always pick up some boxes of My Beauty Diary masks. Inexpensive and you get a lot (10 a box). I even gift these to friends and they always have positive feedback! The past year, I have been using ‘Hyaluronic Acid’ and ‘Aloe’Both are skin savers and pick-me-ups. I rely on these whenever I feel that my skin needs a drink and is feeling dull. The product is generous plus it’s so enjoyable to use for 30 minutes! Highly recommend!

The other masks that I bought from Hong Kong were the  Innisfree Capsule Recipe Pack in ‘Aloe’ which were inexpensive but particularly expensive on YesStyle! (In that case, I say don’t bother with the latter.) It comes in a plastic pot with about 3/4 uses. The consistency is gel-like with a slight grittiness to it. This is great to use for soothing your skin however I think I’ll stick to my organic aloe vera gel which works out cheaper over time.


A total of 10 products have been cleaned up! I have 7 others accumulated and some others that are close to finishing, so it won’t be long till I’m back with a similar post! 😉

Have you used the products that I have cleaned-up so far? If so, comment below! ⬇️⬇️⬇️

Question of the Day: Have you ever wondered how many products you own?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Twitter: @ahoyhoi
Instagram: @hoiyinli
Pinterest: judyyinli
Tumblr: hoiyinli

6 Comments

  1. Great job with all the empties! Yes, collecting empties is like trash, that’s why I call my series: Trash Stash! 😉
    Have you tried the Garnier Blends with the apple scent? It made my hair very voluminous!
    I’ve heard great things about the Biore UV Aqua Rich sunscreen. I almost bought it when I was in Japan but I ended up buying Allie and Anessa instead.
    I’m similar with sheet masks – I go on binges. I need to be more consistent!

    • I have another empties coming up soon 😉 I had too many so decided to split it into two posts this month!
      Oh I wasn’t aware about Garnier Blends having an apple scent in their range but I’ll have a look next time!
      How did you find Allie and Anessa? I highly recommend Biore UV. I miss it so much!!

  2. Pingback: The Beauty Clean-Up #4 (empties) | Hoi Yin Li

  3. Pingback: The Beauty Clean-Up #8 (empties) + Year-End Total | Hoi Yin Li

  4. Pingback: Empties in Tens #3 | Hoi Yin Li

Leave a comment