Beauty & Skincare
Comments 14

Follow-up Review on The Ordinary Skincare

You may have caught up with my quite recent haul: The Ordinary Skincare which I talked about briefly here as a first impressions.

Now that it’s been over a month since incorporating some of the products (4 out of 6)* into my routine, I feel that I have acquired a better opinion about them overall. Without a doubt, they have improved my skin but how? Let’s find out!

img_2247img_2249

The products featured in this post are: 

Advanced Retinoid 2%
Lactic Acid 10% + HA 2%
Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5
Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%

*I have not incorporated the Vitamin C moisturiser at all into my routine for reasons explained in my first impressions post. As for the Azelaic Acid Moisturiser – it has finally been dispatched after being out-of-stock since end of November.

Chemical Exfoliation

img_2251

I use Advanced Retinoid 2% and Lactic Acid 10% + HA 2% together, one after the other. This step is performed after I have cleansed and toned my skin, 2-3x a week. It has made the biggest difference to my skin and I cannot sing it enough praises.

The retinol is a milky consistency that is particularly nice to pat into the skin. It doesn’t run wild nor does it feel cheap even though it is cheap. It feels expensive! The numerous times that I have used this, it hasn’t stung my face or made me react. I actually think it’s reversed whatever signs of ageing that I had. It’s that miraculous.

The lactic acid on the other hand is more…acidic-looking if you like: in colour, scent and texture. The scent is noticeable; it’s citrusy but not the type we’re accustomed to – more sour, but I don’t mind it. It makes my skin tingle in the slightest – not quite a sting. (If you are worried, there is a 5% version available.)  It layers nicely on top of the retinol and what’s great is I can feel it smoothing out my skin and sloughing away the dead skin cells.

Verdict: I have not used either retinol or lactic acid products before so there is nothing I can compare these to, but for the price and quality, I say…knock yourself out! The morning after, my skin looks younger, smoother, radiant. I no longer have problems with the texture of my skin. As for acne and breakouts? None.

Treatment + Serums

img_2253

Hyaluronic Acid is not new in my skincare dictionary. In fact, it’s considered a holy grail ingredient in my routine. I  have used it in the form of face masks, lotions and moisturisers. (FYI – it all performed positively.)  This is my first time using it as a serum.

The Ordinary’s Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5 is so easy to use that I recommend it to virtually anyone. It’s the perfect remedy for anyone with dehydrated, thirsty skin. With my combination/oily skin, my skin is more balanced and less oily than when I don’t use it. Even on no-makeup days, I can look rather decent (i.e. not that oily) after a long day which is rather reassuring!

I can’t say that this particular HA product is better than other HA products I’ve used however. To me, they’re all within the same wavelength. For the price though, you can’t go wrong.

Now the Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% is completely new in my skincare dictionary. I use this on top of HA (or vice versa) on the days that I am not chemical exfoliating. It took a bit longer to get into grips of what this does mainly because skin change can be so small yet so big in the long-run. This doesn’t help minimise my pores but in terms of blemishes, any spots that occur seem to heal up rather quickly before they form. Plus my skin is much less congested and more even-toned.

Verdict: Overall, I am impressed with the serums. On price point and quality, these actually perform better than some of the more expensive brands that give little to no results. They don’t sit on my skin but actually absorb which is a huge plus too so again…knock yourself out!


Have you tried The Ordinary Skincare yet? How do you feel about advanced skincare being so readily available now in the market? 🙂

Once I receive and test the Azelaic Acid Moisturiser, I will eventually do a follow-up review on the last two remaining products of my haul, so stay tuned! 

Much love.

Bloglovin: Hoi Yin Li
Twitter: @ahoyhoi
Instagram: @hoiyinli
Pinterest: judyyinli
Tumblr: hoiyinli

14 Comments

  1. This looks like serious no-frill skincare! I like the sound of the Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% serum. I just looked up the products and they’re super affordable! Might have to give them a whirl.

    • It’s really worth giving them a try! They are so affordable, and even more so than some of the drugstore brands.

      The texture of my skin overall has improved a lot, and I haven’t broken out since using these seriously. Maybe a spot or two but they heal real quick.

  2. Ohhh I’m so glad you did this post, I’ve been seeing the ordinary everywhere and wasn’t sure but I think I’ll have to!

    • Definitely do check it out! I rarely have products that I rave about and recommend to basically everyone. If you do end up getting it, do let me know how you get on! 🙂

    • Woo! What did you order? Let me know how you get on! I’ll be ordering again soon as I am running out of 2 things! xo

      • I ordered loads! As they were so cheap and I couldn’t decide I thought I’d just get quite a bit and try it out! I got Niacinamide 10% + Zinc PCA 1%, Lactic Acid 5%, Hyaluronic Acid 2%, Ascorbly Glucoside 12%, Retinol 1%, and Alpha Lipoid Acid 5%!! Cant wait to try it out xx

  3. Pingback: Follow-Up Review on The Ordinary Moisturisers | Hoi Yin Li

  4. Pingback: The Beauty Clean-Up #4 (empties) | Hoi Yin Li

  5. Pingback: Another The Ordinary Skincare Haul + Future Products to Test! | Hoi Yin Li

  6. I just bought the Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5. I hope it can help my dehydrated skin. I heard HA works the best in humid places. I can’t use a humidifier since my room don’t have window. Maybe use it after shower is the best time?
    I really like the concept of the Ordinary. Everything is affordable and easy to add into current skincare routine. Love them.

  7. Pingback: The Ordinary Lactic Acid 5% + HA 2% Review – Skin Texture SAVIOUR – Beautiful, Creative, Inspiring . . . Life.

Leave a comment