Beauty & Skincare
Comments 5

My First Project Pan

For someone who loves compiling Empties posts, I can’t believe that I’ve never planned a Project Pan and documented it! In my mind, there were a few items that I had wanted to empty out last year or at least use more of however this never got achieved so again, some of the items remain collecting dust.

Nevermind being a beauty blogger – I mean I am not really invested in that title, but as someone who has spent money on lots of items, I ought to be more responsible in using up the products unless it is really bad. So here’s my attempt at being more responsible this year and less of a hoarder!

The Ordinary Glycolic Acid 7% Toning Solution

60% left to be used

I don’t know what it is but I just don’t naturally reach for this. It took me a long time to open this and when I finally did, I didn’t find myself being excited enough to use it. It’s not actually a bad product per se but is it comparable to Pixi Glow Tonic? No – in my opinion, it isn’t. But then again, I’ve yet to use it consistently so I’ll let you know how it fares in the next couple of months.

Superdrug Calm Skin Moisturising Serum

20% left to be used

I originally bought this because I remember reading someone’s blog and they had said some good things about this particular range by Superdrug. I rather like their Vitamin E range so it was in my interest to try this other range too. I do actually like this product but I find it a bit difficult to fit into a routine unless it is very simple because it can pill up post-serum stage. It is versatile though in the sense that it can be used as a moisturising primer – I wouldn’t say it’s tacky but it adds that nice slip to the skin. I’m confident that I’ll be able to use this up!

Charlotte Tilbury Instant Look in a Palette

Can we hit pan this year?

A palette! Well, this one is going to be a challenge and if there is any shade that will hit pan this year, it’ll be the contour shade since it’s the only one I own/use other than my Sleek palette. This product is probably one of the biggest investments I’ve made within beauty but it has been SO worth it. It just helps bring my face to life without overdoing it and it is so travel-friendly. I have to say that I don’t use the brown ‘blush’ much since I have to use a very light-hand but perhaps I should find a day where I use the entire palette for one whole look?

Bobbi Brown Concealer

90% left to be used

I bought this randomly in Hong Kong. It is one of my only concealers that I use for concealing spots and imperfections but to be honest, I hardly deal with this step. I would find this a bit thick to apply under the eyes so in a lot of ways, it’s going to be difficult to pan this one. We’ll just have to see!

NYX Liquid Lingerie Lipsticks

50% left to be used (this is an approximation considering how much I use these…I would be happy to use up any one of the colours this year!)

I own three different shades: Push-up, Ruffle Trim and Exotic. I find these beautiful on the lip albeit I apply them over lip balm to achieve the best results. The applicator on these are quite weird however I’ve gotten used to this now…how should I put it? It’s not fluffy but more of a long and flat doe foot applicator. The reason I love these is its lasting power. Yes, quite a bit comes off after I drink coffee but I’ll still have some amount of colour on my lip which I can’t say is the case for practically all my other lip products that I own. (Bare in mind that I don’t own any other liquid lipsticks to date.)

Laura Mercier Oil-free Tinted Moisturiser

80% left to be used

The thing is, I do actually really like this product but the unfortunate thing is the shade is wrong for me! The shade range is rather weird – I got colour tested in-store and the lightest shade was too light for me so I thought to get the next shade up. For a shade that’s the second lightest, it is actually very dark – probably verging on orange on my fair-light skin. I’m going to have to use this to contour my face it seems if I’m to touch this at all this year. I’ve yet to figure it out but I think with a lot of patience and blending, this method could work. Any tips are welcome, of course.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation

50% left to be used

Anyone who’s been following me long enough knows that this is one of my go-to foundations! I actually haven’t touched this since last summer and as it stands, have one back-up of this which was gifted by one of my best friends on my birthday. I gained a few new makeup base favourites in the past year so it would be interesting to see if I still feel the same way about this foundation? I will look to pick it for use end of February since I’m in the middle of testing/reviewing another drugstore foundation.

Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask

30% left to be used

If there is one product that I’d be very happy to finish, it would actually be this one because it’s so old (I’m sure it’s still in good condition but I’ll check again). I originally got this as part of a gift set one Christmas. It smells really nice and is great if your skin needs hydration but not the type that feels like you’re just rubbing liquids on your face. Having said that, I do prefer the overnight masks that are of thinner consistency than this one so it’s quite unlikely that I will repurchase this again. I find this slightly tacky on the skin (although it gives it a nice slip) BUT during the winter months, this can be quite the lifesaver. Ask for a sample if you can.


There are probably a few others that I could add to this Project Pan but I thought that it would be wise to start small (and realistic). I hope you’re all enjoying your Saturday so far? I’ve just finished making some banana pancakes this morning! 🙂 Join me tomorrow for another post.

Tune into NEW posts every Tuesdays, Fridays and Sundays with me.

You can find me on:

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr

5 Comments

  1. Good luck with all your items! The Bourjois foundation always gets positive reviews, I’d like to try it one day maybe 🙂 I have the Origins mask as well.

  2. Ooo, banana pancakes sound so yummy right now! I love following along & seeing how well people do on their Project Pans. Have you decided how many times you’ll give us an update over the year or will you just show us your results at the end? Either way, I’m looking forward to it. Best of luck to you. ♡

    • To be (really) honest with you, I haven’t figured that part out yet because I haven’t quite started with my Project Pan! I imagine I’ll do a mid-year update though and then an end-of-year update at the very least. Are you doing a Project Pan at all this year?

      • Okay 🙂 looking forward to your updates whenever you decide to post them! I’ve never done a project pan before. I just usually use whatever & do the Empties post. 🙂

Leave a comment