Lifestyle
Comments 10

#Selfcare Sunday Series | How to Make your New Years Resolutions/Goals Count This Year

Happy Sunday!

I hope everyone has had a re-charged weekend!

I have been sleeping terrible overall…I just can’t seem to get comfortable but most of all, I have been finding it hard to shut my mind down. Even though on the surface and in general, my personality is very chilled, my mind is in fact going 100mph. Does anyone have any tips for sleeping better? I’m going to try some different teas to see if that would help but at the moment, I’ve been feeling like a zombie.

Anyways – back to topic: I wanted to tap into more advice-giving posts this year so to start 2020 off, I’m going to be rounding off my best tips to getting your New Years resolutions in-check this year! If you don’t believe in them, that’s totally fine – just replace them with any goals throughout the year that you may have!

Create a Rough Timeline

Note that I mentioned ‘rough’. It’s important to have clear goals but nothing is set in stone unless you have a deadline that is the be all or end all. Even then, depending on the type of person you are, you may find that you like to work flexibly or step-by-step so re-adjust this timeline to what suits you best.

I’m personally very adaptable and flexible so I don’t like to ground myself too much however having said that, I like to write down a rough timeline so I know what to achieve within a period of time in order to not go off-track and/or off on a tangent.

Big Goals, Small Goals

In every big goal that you have, there are small goals that you should look to achieve under that. In the wider scheme of things, goals should be seen as a node for self-progress – the end result is…there is no ‘end-result’ – it just keeps going and re-adjusting! It’s very easy to get caught up in the big picture without looking at the details but look too much at the details and you might miss the big picture so try to have some balance.

The best and perhaps most cliché example to use is weight-loss.

When you achieve your ‘dream-body/dream-weight’ or however you may call it, maybe the goal you want to re-set it to is maintenance in the long-run followed by a reevaluated fitness goal such as ‘I want to get 11 abs!’ or ‘I want to be able to do 20 push-ups!’.

Assess It

Some people like to bullet-journal whilst others may just like to jot down notes on a weekly basis to check-in with themselves. You may have also seen those self-care/mindfulness journals floating about in recent years where pages are already pre-planned.

I have tried bullet-journalling in the past but ultimately, it took up a lot of time which is why I don’t do it anymore. What I do instead is create a spreadsheet on Numbers (or Excel) as a daily tracker for the goal that I want to achieve. It is so much easier for me this way when it comes to seeing an overview of a long-term goal!

For daily tasks (that are part of long-term goals – keep this in mind), I often use post-it notes to list what I need to do on the day. It doesn’t mean I won’t procrastinate but at least that way, I have outlined what I need to do mindfully.

See: Bullet Journal Planning & Flatlays

Remember Why You Want to Achieve your Goal

If there is just one tip that I want you to take away from this post, it would 100% be this one! You’re going to have moments where you lose motivation, momentum…and that’s okay. What is not okay is losing the reason for why you wanted to achieve your goal in the first place. If your mind isn’t going somewhere, take it back to a memory on why you’re doing what you’re doing and it should re-charge you. 🙂

Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Ever wanted to achieve something so much that you end up burning yourself out? Yeah. I’ve been in that position many times and it is neither pretty for the mind or body. Patience is really a virtue when it comes to achieving goals. You may have read successful business stories in the past which involved the person waking up everyday at 5am to grind and work on their dream product and brand. It starts from a passion. It can start from a bedroom or a warehouse. A small apartment. Anywhere because the power of the internet is the strongest it has ever been. Point is, no matter how long it takes to achieve whatever big goal you may have, keep going and remember to check-in with your smaller goals on a regular basis. I strongly believe that timing is key to everything.

P.S. To be successful, waking up at 5am everyday is NOT the only way but it’s definitely good to have a good routine set in place.

Do Today, Not Tomorrow

I’m going to tell you something and I’m going to be very blunt about it. If you are telling yourself that you will do it tomorrow instead, chances are you won’t and chances are, you’re setting yourself up for a subpar result because you haven’t made it a priority. (Note I didn’t mention the F-word…not the profanity kind either.)

Don’t get me wrong – there are seemingly people who get the job done even when it’s achieved last minute. But there is no safety-net for real success and if your best effort is being half-arsed about it, I’d rather you just drop the whole goal and go home to re-assess all the above.


Join me next Sunday for another #Selfcare post. 🙂 I will be talking about overcoming anxiety. For once, I actually have the whole month planned and can’t wait to share some of these topics bit by bit!

Tune into NEW posts every Tuesdays, Fridays and Sundays with me.

You can find me on:

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr

10 Comments

  1. I love your tips on these, and I completely agree! I also think another one that helps you stay on track is to make your goal measurable – for example, using the common new year’s goal of “going to the gym more”, assigning a number to this goal – three times a week, or 10 times a month, or something like that.

    • So true! There’s an acronym that you may have heard of: SMART. I can’t remember all of them but am sure the M stands for Measurable and the R stands for Realistic?

  2. Breaking tasks down in to bite sized chunks can be helpful and stop you feeling overwhelmed. It is nice to get things done and not put them off but at the same time don’t force yourself to do something if it feels hard/stressful 🙂

    • Definitely! I think you made a really good point there. 🙂 The worse case scenario is probably when you get overwhelmed by all your tasks altogether and end up doing nothing. It’s really about mindset and sometimes it’s just easier to separate yourself from your tasks now and again. I remember I used to go ALL IN for everything I did but long-term, it didn’t benefit me as I’d get sick, get overwhelmed, unnecessarily stressed if I skipped a day etc. Slow and steady really does win the race.

  3. Amielle says

    I’m a big believer of the quote, “if you can it today, why wait for tomorrow?” as well! This year, I hope it’s gonna be less procrastination for me. Hehehe 😀

    • That sounds very good to me! I think it is something that comes with age as well. One day you do wake up and just think how much time you are wasting by being not productive enough in doing something that could’ve been done in minutes.

  4. Amielle says

    Sorry, typo! if you can do* it today. 🙂

    I agree with that. As you grow older, you realize that time is so important that you don’t want to waste time on nonsense things.

Leave a comment