Beauty & Skincare, Lifestyle
Comments 3

How Much Does My Skincare Routine Cost?

It’s probably not the right time in the year to talk about money but everyone knows that I’m a self-proclaimer in not following trends. 😛 Besides, I am not making you buy a product; we are just having a discussion because who hasn’t thought about the accumulated cost of a particular category? I had thought about joining the gym this year but when doing the math, I didn’t think that me spending £300 a year was going to be efficiently used because I actually wouldn’t go (I don’t enjoy it enough to go).

Skincare on the other hand…I wouldn’t say I would spend profusely on it but certainly there have been times where I’ve spent money on the whim without looking at descriptions or reviews of the product(s) in question. I have never calculated how much my skincare routine is worth so this could turn out to be very interesting.

For those who follow me on Instagram, I already shared one of my skincare routines. That’s right, I am currently running two skincare routines so the weekdays are quite different to the weekends.

Let’s get started shall we?

My Weekday Skincare Routine comprises of:

Garnier Micellar Water (500ml) – £6
IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Make-up Cleansing Balm – £30
Garnier Pure Active 3in1 Clay Mask Scrub – £3.69
SANA Soy Cleanser – £8*
Pixi Glow Tonic – £18
Missha Time Revolution The First Treatment Essence – £22
Revolution Skincare Stabilised Active Collagen – £8
Revolution Skincare 5% ATP – £8
Antipodes Kiwi Seed Oil Eye Cream – £27.99
Sukin Facial Moisturiser – £7.95
Sukin Skincare Calming Night Cream – £14.95
Innisfree UV Protection Cream No Sebum SPF 35 – £10 **

*I bought mine in Hong Kong. I don’t remember how much I paid for it exactly but it’s definitely a bit cheaper than what you get it for online.

**I bought this at the airport in Hong Kong. It was around this much, maybe cheaper.

Note: 2 products are not pictured by accident – my bad! It was too late by the time I had noticed this.

Total = £164.58 (average £13.71/product)

My Weekend Skincare Routine comprises of:

Garnier Micellar Water (500ml) – £6
Pestle & Mortar Erase Cleansing Balm – £40
Kiehl’s Rare Earth Deep Pore Cleanser – £19.50
Son & Park Beauty Water – £20
Hada Labo Premium Lotion – £12
Revolution Skincare Salicylic Acid – £7.99
Revolution Skincare Niacinamide – £6
IT Cosmetics Confidence in an Eye Cream – £30
Tonymoly Green Tea Chok Chok Cream – £12***
Eucerin Face Sun Fluid SPF 30 – £15

***Realistically, I bought mine for a bit cheaper at TK Maxx for about £8.

Total = £168.49 (average £16.85/product)

Thoughts & Verdict

I am pleasantly surprised overall! I actually think the total is quite healthy and not outrageously bad.

Firstly, I thought that both my routines would cost very different but they turned out to cost very similar. It’ll be interesting to see if this will be the case in a future How Much Does My Skincare Routine Cost? post.

My skincare routines do tend to be well-balanced. That being, I don’t spend luxuriously on every item nor do I spend cheaply on everything. There are certainly items that I will never spend lots on such as micellar water, whilst there are items such as cleansers where I feel I can go either way (luxurious or mid-range drugstore). I wouldn’t say I’m too precious about any category although I tend to splurge on cleansing balms and eye creams.

Overall, my skincare routine(s) is in a good place where my skin is at its best (or close to its best). I would however, like to conduct an experiment in the future where I maybe go full drugstore skincare routine and see a) how much this costs instead and b) what effects this reaps for my skin. Obviously, the experiment is subject to the products themselves rather than the cost or market they belong to, but it would be interesting nevertheless don’t you think?


Have you ever calculated how much your full skincare routine costs? Feel free to do it spontaneously and let me know in the comments section down below how much yours costs! Do you have any particular habits where you spend more on something over another?

You can find me on:

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr

3 Comments

  1. I’ve never really thought to add up how much my skincare routine costs. It’d be interesting for sure to calculate because mostly all of the products I use were part of sub boxes!

Leave a comment