Beauty & Skincare
Comments 5

Review: NYX HD Finishing Powder

It’s been over 6 months since my last review! This is actually one that I had written up a few months ago but for some reason, I never made it live. For those who are new to my reviews, they are a little few and far between as I tend not to follow trends or review products that are popular or hyped. In fact, I usually do the opposite! (I think it is much more authentic this way.) I am however looking to put out more reviews this year than I did in 2019.

Right, let’s jump into the review for today shall we?

What is it?

It is described as a ‘lightweight translucent powder that helps soften the appearance of fine lines and pores’.


How much does it cost?

£9. Not super expensive but for a drugstore brand, it’s not exactly cheap either. I think drugstore products are getting more expensive overall though.


Where from?

NYX is readily available in Boots and Debenhams in the UK. I purchased mine from Boots.


Who is it for?

As per its description, I imagine that it is targeted especially for those who have texture issues be it fine lines or pores. Since the finish is described to be more on the matte side, I suspect it’s also targeted more towards those with oily skin.


What made you buy it?

Shortly after NYX was finally made available in my local Boots, I researched a couple of different products to try out and this made the list due to its good reviews. I was also interested to know what other drugstore powder options there were as I tend to be a bit more pro-luxury when it comes to powders.

At the time of this review being written, the reviews online have a 4.5 star average rating.


Can you talk me through the ingredients?

Talc, Dimethicone, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Magnesium Stearate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol. MAY CONTAIN / PEUT CONTENIR (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090)

Ingredients copied from Official NYX Site. Ingredients research conducted on CosDNA and Paula’s Choice Ingredient Dictionary

Nothing major really jumps out at me as being concerning unless you are avoiding silicones as a whole in which case, maybe don’t bother. A lot of the ingredients are quite commonly seen in powder products so no surprises there.

I did however find a pleasant surprise in knowing that there was Vitamin E in this (Tocopheryl Acetate).


What do you have to say about it?

I bought this product a good few months ago but it took me a while to finally get round to it.

There are 3 colours in total in which I purchased the ‘banana’ powder as I felt it would be the most flattering and fuss-free pick for me. My first real impression of it was that I needed to dab ever so lightly in the pan otherwise it produces quite the kickback and therefore, mess which I wasn’t really prepared for. Needless to say, I wasn’t keen on this. The powder is very loose – quite like talc powder that’s used on babies except with a yellow tint. Its looseness also reminded me of chalk and the residue that’s left behind once used.

Following on from the first use, I would go in lightly with a powder brush. I found the best way is really to dab – not swirl, never swirl. It’s also vital to tap off the excess which is something I do with all my powders anyway – but feel is more important here because of how loose the powder really is.

The NYX HD Powder is featured in a basic black and clear plastic casing. It is okay looking, not exactly enticing but does the job.
Hopefully you can see how loose the powder is?

Some people find powders quite boring to test but I’ve found them to be challenging because of the other factors that can get in the way of testing. For example, some powders just work better with certain foundations over others which I find fascinating. I also firmly believe that (good) skincare plays a huge role in getting the most out of your powder. To put it bluntly, I really gave this powder the benefit of the doubt multiple times until it got ugly.

It’s true that powders are not exactly exciting – a lot of the time it’s either pretty enough to put in your handbag or just one you use to set your whole makeup look and that’s that. This product was definitely not one that I wanted to take on-the-go with me for fear of more mess and rightly so – except it was on my face.

One swatch of this powder and you can pick up this much loose powder from it.
In some powders, you notice how smoothing it can make the skin look. I cannot say that it is the same for this product – what do you think?

In the following weeks of testing, more and more problems occurred.

Initially, I didn’t think too much of the product. Immediate thoughts were that I didn’t think it made my skin prettier but it didn’t make it look worse either so definitely not a favourite thus far. I did however notice that I looked dry in some areas (I have combination-oily skin, remember) and the finish was a bit powdery. To help with this, I tried using a setting spray which would normally help but in this case, didn’t really.

Despite so, I gave it the benefit of the doubt with a few theories in mind: Maybe I need to exfoliate more? Maybe it’s my skincare? Maybe I just need to give it the time of day for my oils to seep through so it looks prettier? Maybe it’s not working with my primer/foundation?

In terms of oil control, I found this to be weak in that area. I would re-touch and look quite powdery-matte which isn’t my favourite finish but could accept (at the time). 2-3 hours later, I would look shiny again so needless to say, I wasn’t impressed with this. I’ve had instances where some powders just get prettier by the day as soon as a bit of oil comes through – not this one though, which leads to the biggest problem of all.

I remember I was casually sitting at my beauty table. I had been testing this powder for weeks (limited to weekends only), still in a bit of denial that this powder wasn’t that bad. I had powdered in the morning on top of my usual everyday makeup routine. I looked up at my desk mirror randomly at quite a close-up angle and couldn’t believe the horror.

The powder on my face had done this weird thing of disintegrating therefore making everything look patchy. I had no idea how I didn’t quite notice it before either, because it was very apparent and super ugly. Thankfully, I hadn’t stepped outside but also shockingly, none of my family members noticed (artificial lighting can have its perks). I made sure that this wasn’t a fluke or some weird product combination gone wrong but it happened again and again.

My skin just didn’t look pretty or ‘finished’ – actually, it was quite the opposite in the sense that if I had the time, I would re-do my entire makeup. I didn’t adore how it looked on my nose, the area between my eyebrows and the inner corner of my eyelids. It just seemed to emphasise texture – the opposite of what it’s marketed as. Honestly, I have never looked so dry especially for someone who traditionally doesn’t have dry skin and/or texture issues.

In the following weeks, I focused more on the application and really tried all sorts of methods to make it work but all methods failed. I found that the powder doesn’t really blend into the skin – instead, it just sits on top of it. It also seemed to get worse by the day which is a first for me.

Apparently the powder does not respond well to flashback either.

Sorry to say but not a fan, and definitely won’t be re-purchasing or recommending.

Overall Loving: 2/10

I am genuinely baffled by the positive reviews online for this powder because I just do not see it at all. I was actually at a Laura Mercier counter the other day talking about my disappointment to the beauty assistant and she agreed that it was an ugly powder too – chalky was the term she used. My final verdict is to stay clear from this.


Have you tried this powder? What are your thoughts? I would be very interested to know if your opinion is similar to mine or the exact opposite!

Tune into NEW posts every Tuesdays, Fridays and Sundays with me.

You can find me on:

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr

5 Comments

  1. This powder is perfect for those who have oily skin! On the other hand, if you have dry skin – just stay away from this product lol! 🙈

  2. This seriously sounds so disappointing. I don’t want to sound stuck up but, I never touch drugstore makeup. The reviews are usually written by people who never try high end or luxury products, meaning they don’t really know what’s good/better out there.

    That fall out is ridiculous & the swatch even made your hand look crepey! What a shock to see your face all patchg after awhile of wear. Yikes.

    • You’re right – the swatch really doesn’t look that promising. I still remember the first time I dipped my brush into it – the kickback was SERIOUS and I kinda knew in that instance it wasn’t a product I’d love.

      There are definitely some good drugstore products around but I know what you mean when comparing it to luxury products. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment